2022 WC: Nigeria release squad for Ghana clash


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


Super Eagles
Super Eagles

Nigeria coach, Augustine Eguavoen, has named his Super Eagles provisional squad for the Fifa 2022 World Cup qualifiers against Ghana later this month.

Eguavoen has named his 30 man list for the much-anticipated game against the Black Stars.

The most notable inclusion in this list is that of Leicester City winger Ademola Lookman. 

Another noteworthy point is the return of Watford striker Emmanuel Dennis. The former Genk man was sensationally absent at January’s Africa Cup of nations despite his club releasing fellow Super Eagles player William Troost Ekong, Senegal’s Ismaila Sarr and Moroccan defender Adam Masina.

The Super Eagles will be hosted at the Cape Coast Stadium for the first leg on March 25 before the return leg in Abuja on March 29

Here is the full squad:

  • Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands).
  • Defenders: Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal).
  • Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Akinkunmi Amoo (FC Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Hilal FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England).
  • Standby: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Ogenyi Onazi (Al-Adalah FC, Saudi Arabia).


Source link

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.